Music Fix

Nicki Minaj, Young Thug & More Featured On Elton John’s Album

Elton John unveiled the tracklist for his upcoming project, The Lockdown Sessions. The compilation project is stacked with guest appearances including Lil Nas X, Gorillaz, Yo-Yo Ma, and more.

Check out the tracklist for Elton John’s new album below.

1. Elton John & Dua Lipa – “Cold Heart (PNAU Remix)”
2. Elton John, Young Thug & Nicki Minaj – “Always Love You”
3. Surfaces feat. Elton John – “Learn To Fly”
4. Elton John & Charlie Puth – “After All”
5. Rina Sawayama & Elton John – “Chosen Family”
6. Gorillaz feat. Elton John & 6LACK – “The Pink Phantom”
7. Elton John & Years & Years – It’s a sin (global reach mix)
8. Miley Cyrus feat. WATT, Elton John, Yo-Yo Ma, Robert Trujillo & Chad Smith – “Nothing Else Matters”
9. Elton John & SG Lewis – “Orbit”
10. Elton John & Brandi Carlile – “Simple Things”
11. Jimmie Allen & Elton John – “Beauty In The Bones”
12. Lil Nas X feat. Elton John – “One Of Me”
13. Elton John & Eddie Vedder – “E-Ticket”
14. Elton John & Stevie Wonder – “Finish Line
15. Elton John & Stevie Nicks – “Stolen Car”
16. Glen Campbell & Elton John – “I’m Not Gonna Miss You”

Kid Cudi Offers To Work With Lil Nas X After Critic Complains About “Montero” Tracklist Having No Diverse Features

The highly anticipated debut album of Grammy Awzrd Winner Lil Nas X is being released on September 17 and fans have been patiently waiting. The openly gay music star continues to enjoy the big success if his hit singles     “Industry Baby” featuring Jack Harlow, and his “MONTERO (Call Me By Your Name)”.

Twitter is wondering why there is no black male artist featured on his album

Tweet: “Lil Nas X’s album has no black male guest lol. Just women & white men. No agenda tho,”

The rapper took a moment to respond. – “Maybe a lot of them just don’t wanna work with me,”

Kid Cudi then tweeted “N*gga ill work w u and frolic in rose gardens w u singin about my pain”

Only time will tell if this collaboration will actually come to light.

The Covid Pandemic May Have Stopped Concerts But Not Streams & Sales

Hip hop star Lil Baby was the biggest star of 2020 despite the COVID-19 pandemic.

In February, he released  his 2nd studio album “MY TURN” which debuted No. 1 on the Billboard 200 following its release, It also marked the first album in 2020 to go 2x platinum. Official reports the project is the top grossing rap album of 2020, raking in over $19 million this year.

Pop Smoke’s posthumous Shoot For The Stars, Aim For The Moon lands at No. 3 with $15.8 million.

Juice WRLD’s posthumous album Legends Never Die sits at No. 4 with $15.6 million.

The Weeknd’s After Hours rounded out the Top 5 with $15.5 million.

Megan Thee Stallion Finally Drops Debut Album “Good News”

YES its finally hear and it has been such a monumental year for the rap star for a multitude of reasons. Of course many career milestones such as the No. 1 song  with Cardi B  “WAP” and worldwide people were giving their renditions of her “Savage” dance and you know you have to be the hottest new starlet in the game when the Queen Beyoncé  takes notice of you and even jumped on the remix of her hit song.

Meg’s album features DaBaby, City Girls, Lil Durk, SZA, Big Sean, 2 Chainz, Young Thug, Popcaan, and of course, Beyoncé.

Jeezy’s New Album ‘The Recession 2’

What a month of success it has been for the Rap Legend “Young Jeezy”. He rolled with a series of special  announcements. First, Jeezy revealed that he would be doing  The (Re)session podcast. The new podcast uses the titles of the album’s songs to create meaningful conversations with entertainers. Doing a podcast is a new lane for the usually private entertainer. He also revealed his new working title as the Senior Advisor to the Chairman at Def Jam records. All of this tie in with the release of a brand new album “The Recession 2”

Jeezy: “It’s an honor to return to the label I’ve called home for 15 years, not only as an artist, but as an executive, I spent most of my career learning from trial and error, I am happy to say that I am back on the team that helped me build my legacy from the streets to the boardroom and nothing makes me more fulfilled than being in a position to help guide and add value to the next generation.”

Nicki Minaj Celebrates 10 Year Anniversary Of Her Debut Album & Sets Out To Release Tell-All-Documentary

The producers of  the untitled series “will explore Nicki’s brilliantly creative mind and tell the story of her personal and professional journey”, No set air date yet but it will air on U.S. streaming service HBO Max.

“It’s going to give you guys a raw unfiltered look at my personal life and my professional journey and I can’t wait to share it with you,” The New Mom announced on social media as she celebrated the 10-year anniversary of her debut album Pink Friday.

Can you believe its been a full decade since The Rap Icon released her first album “Pink Friday” on November 22, 2010.  The album was an immediate success. Pink Friday debuted at No. 2 on the Billboard 200 chart with 375,000 copies sold in its first week. It marked the second-highest debut week in the history of female hip-hop recording artists. The multi-platinum project was nominated for Best Rap Album at the 54th Grammy Awards in 2012 but won the Favorite Rap/Hip-Hop Album at the American Music Awards.


Some Of Your Favorite Songs That Were Originally Meant For Another Artist

Could you imagine how some of your favorite songs being recorded by someone else?

Here is an interesting list of songs that were originally given to another singer/rapper before that passed on it.


Did you know one of our favorite Kanye West songs was originally given to One-Hit-Wonder Chicago rapper Shawnna

West’s 2005 take on this track, which features an appearance by Jamie Foxx, sailed to #1 Billboard‘s Hot 100 and was, at the time, the fastest selling digital download of all time.  Shawnna, who passed on it. Kanye tweaked the hook a bit, and the rest is history.

I’m A Slave 4U

Britney Spears iconic pop hit almost never happened, however, as the song was originally intended for Janet Jackson’s All For You album, but didn’t make the cut.

N!99@Z In Paris

Pusha T didn’t like the beat from this track, kicking it to the curb for “sounding like a video game”.

It was then discovered by label-owner Kanye, who immediately recognized the potential and used it for his collaboration with Jay-Z.

I Don’t Want To Miss A Thing

Originally written for Céline Dion,  Aerosmith power ballad was for the apocalypse flick Armageddon.

Steven Tyler so channels his inner diva on the track one has to wonder if it would really sound much different had she done it.

Rock Your Body

This song was just one of several songs originally destined for Michael Jackson’s Invincible album.

But got passed down to JT for his 2002 debut solo album.

My Humps

Super producer & Band member penned this track for pop-group the Pussycat Dolls for their debut album.

But he decided to give them another song instead. The Black Eyed Peas then released it, on 2005’s Monkey Business, where it was the record’s most successful single, going double platinum.

Baby One More Time

Max Martin’s pop track was originally offered to TLC for their “Fan Mail” album, but the R&B group rejected the song.

Eventually served as Spears’ debut single. …Baby One More Time,” Spears perhaps does not arrive in such a huge way.

How Will I Know

Whitney Houston’s No. 1 hit on the Hot 100 stands as one of the artist’s most iconic tracks — but it could have sounded a lot different with Janet Jackson at the helm.

Songwriters George Merrill and Shannon Rubicam reportedly approached Janet’s management team with a demo, but a swift decline forced them to look elsewhere. Thanks in large part to Clive Davis, Houston was given the track.